September 5, 2023
Ontario Association of Landscape Architects  honours individuals and organizations for 2023
Former Landscape Ontario Executive Director Tony DiGiovanni was among 10 individuals across the province who received awards from the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects (OALA) at a ceremony held in Toronto’s Distillery District on June 8, 2023. The awards from the not-for-profit organization recognize those who have made significant contributions to the landscape architecture profession.

To earn the award, DiGiovanni demonstrated a strong commitment to collaboration, and his leadership has certainly been instrumental in bringing together diverse groups of individuals and organizations for the greater good. He has helped advance many of the priorities of Landscape Ontario members, and his work has had a significant impact on the profession as a whole. In 2003, the Tony DiGiovanni Scholarship Fund was launched to support Ontario students who exemplify the qualities that build trust in the profession of horticulture.

Other awards winners include:
  • The David Erb Memorial Award: Ryan James and Eric Conway
  • The Jack Copeland Award for Associate Leadership & Contribution: Khatereh Baharikhoob
  • OALA Public Practice Award: Stephen O’Bright and Robert Duguid
  • Carl Borgstrom Award for Service to the Environment: Sibylle von Knobloch
  • OALA Award for Community Service to the Environment: Plenty Canada, an Indigenous not-for-profit organization committed to reconciliation through the cross-cultural protection of nature
  • OALA President’s Award: Jane Welsh, OALA President from 2018-2021
  • OALA Pinnacle Award for Landscape Architectural Excellence: Donna Hinde, OALA President from 1998-2000

The OALA Honours and Awards are the highest recognition the association can bestow on its members and the general public. Awards spanning different categories are handed out each year to candidates nominated by their peers and selected by the Association's Honours, Awards and Protocol Committee. Over 100 community leaders participated in this year's ceremony. For more information on the awards, visit
Image top row: Tony DiGiovanni, Brendan Stewart, Eric Conway, Khatereh Baharikhoob, Donna Hinde, Fadi Masoud.
Bottom row: Ryan James, Larry McDermott, Robert Duguid, Sibylle von Knobloch, Stephen O'Bright, Jane Welsh